Irrefutable Laws of Christmas

You have heard of the Irrefutable Laws of Leadership I am sure. But did you know there are other irrefutable laws that unofficially exist in the world? There are, and Christmas time has some of its own and one of them is this:

Do not under any circumstances, nomatter how cool you think it may sound, mess around with traditional Christmas carols in the context of a carol/christingle service.

I was at my daughters GB Christingle service last night and really enjoyed the whole experience except for one thing. The above irrefutable law of Christmas was broken with horrendous results. We Three Kings was, in my not so humble opinion, completely obliterated by the band to the point where the congregation were awkwardly attempting to fit the words into the melody being played.

All that said though, distracted as I was by what was going on musically, I did find myself having to really concentrate on the words I was trying to fit into the unfamiliar tune.  By then end of it I was singing these words:

Glorious now behold Him arise
King and God and Sacrifice
Alleluia, Alleluia
Earth to heav’n replies

O Star of wonder, star of night
Star with royal beauty bright
Westward leading, still proceeding
Guide us to Thy perfect light
I found them to be warm words that encouraged my heart to pray as I continue this journey.  The wise men had a star to follow on their journey to the King that would ‘guide them to the perfect light.’  For me the question is not what do I have but rather will I notice what is guiding me to the perfect light?
I pray so.


This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Irrefutable Laws of Christmas

  1. jrlaw3n2 says:

    Oh, Charlie, that last line is a keeper!

Leave a Reply

