Blessed with hope

I’m just back after a week in New York, where from 4pm we had to hold on to each other to move through the crowds when walking down the street.  It was a great week in which God’s hand was apparent throughout but the thing I noticed most was peoples attitude.  Consistently, staff in hotels, shops, stalls, cafes even police etc were not friendly.  Maybe it’s a cultural thing, I missed the Northern Irish smiles and ‘how are you?’, if I asked a question it was one word answers and people seemed generally unhappy, many seemed to be just existing or surviving. Perhaps it’s because of the recession, or following 9/11, but we were there 5yrs ago after 9/11 and things have definately changed since then.  I am so blessed with many ‘things’ as well as family and friends but most of all I am so much more aware of how blessed I am to have hope and a joy that radiates from that hope.  I love the whole Christmas lights, carols, Starbucks Gingerbread lattes:-)  but this advent I want to focus on how God is with me (in me) and no matter what else goes on, how thankful I am for Him and the excitment and hope he brings of things to come.

About asharedadventure

I'm 37yrs old, Bangor born and bred. After working as a midwife I left the NHS to set up a business of private preparation for birth and beyond sessions with couples at home. I love to read and there's nothing better than chilling out with a friend in a cafe, a nice cappuccino and good chat:-)
This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

