Kavanagh’s Advent

But here in the Advent-darkened room
Where the dry black bread and the sugarless tea
Of penance will charm back the luxury
Of a child’s soul

When the sun went down today it got really cold, really quickly. I was standing at the side of a rugby pitch watching my 10 year old. Now we’re back indoors, the sky is Advent-darkened winter, the fire is lit and the scones are freshly baked.

Curiously I remember all those places of rebellion that Ade mentioned in prayers this morning; India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Thailand, Iraq. Oh for the luxury of a child’s soul on this the First Sunday of Advent.

This entry was posted in poetry, thanksgiving and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kavanagh’s Advent

  1. peregrinatio says:

    and I’ll be reading Kavanaugh

  2. oxymoronia says:

    Ah Glenn, you beat me to it – here’s hoping that this Advent, despite the tedious talking of old fools (your fine self and my fine self included) will charm back the luxury – dry black bread and sugarless tea will have to be the tastes of Advent. I’m hoping for early morning risings and 7am masses.

  3. jrlaw3n2 says:

    I envy you a spouse who bakes you fresh scones and prays for Afghanistan, for the child who is only ten and therefore still rather human, and for the presence of the very old all around you. The cold you can keep for yourself and I’ll keep my own lovely spouse! Blessings

Leave a Reply

