What is the stars ?

On an overnight bus from Chiang Mai to bangkok …… the lights off and as I lie back in the seat there is a chink of curtain and I am looking up at passing trees and every hundred yards or so it clears and I am looking directly at the stars.

The stars, like the ocean, are something I will never tire of looking at and suddenly unbidden from an English class 20 years ago some lines from Sean O’Casey’s Juno and the Paycock come to mind …. I think its Boyle who says in good old Dublin brogue

An’, as it blowed an’ blowed, I ofen looked up at the sky an’ assed myself, What is the stars, what is the stars ?

peace be upon you wherever you are looking at the stars from

m

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

