Sharing a Joke

Sharing or receiving bad news is not the easiest and I’m becoming skilled at both this Advent. What has been warming has been to have that news shared within a friendship, with people you know and trust. To share and receive hope. Even today.

In my experience of recent weeks women are better at it. They ask the right questions. We men are not so good. Some of us pretend we don’t hear and carry on as normal. But what I love is when, in the company of good men, we share the disturbing news and it is greeted with concern.

And then a joke.

Sometimes wildly inappropriate.

And I’ve had many opportunities in these days to laugh about serious things. Even today. In the right trusting company the joke is the proper thing. I’ve found it a sign of hope and joy, even in not so joyous circumstances.

Some say it’s a weakness, that we laugh because if we didn’t, we’d cry, although I haven’t felt like crying. Not today.

And for that I’m thankful.

So no MH, my Springsteen tix are not available for next week!

This entry was posted in musings, thanksgiving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sharing a Joke

  1. martimc says:

    Isn’t humour a wonderful thing? I’m so glad to be back in Norn Irn – just to enjoy that amazing, irreverent, wicked humour!

    Hope all is well with you and yours.

  2. wf61 says:

    Now now chum, you can’t be too careful at your delicate age. Don’t forget I’m only thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

