monday

Got up in the dark, too dark, leaving the light off to avoid disturbing my wife.  Then somewhere during showering, shaving, medicating it begins to dawn.  I have easy access to light, heat, temperature controlled water in quantities which could save a village just to wash a body that is not dirty, medicine to control the smallest discomfort.  I have material wealth beyond the imagination of my ancestors.

I arrive at my classroom and unlock the door, write daily plans on the board, change months on the calendars, and look around.  In a few minutes a parade of young faces will come in my door sleepy but expectant.  They will wonder what does this week hold, what will we learn, what crazy things will this man try to teach us next?  I stand in for The Teacher and wait in anticipation, what indeed will be the true lessons of this week?  peace

This entry was posted in anticipation, musings, thanksgiving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

