Advent and Our Expectation

Hello everyone, my name’s Wess and I too am just joining TML. I am also a PhD student at Fuller Seminary in Pasadena and am a Quaker who currently attends a Mennonite church (and am the blogger behind “gathering in light”). Advent always brings birth and expectation to the forefront of our minds (or it should!), and this advent season is even more expectant for me (and my wife) as our first child (a baby girl) is due on Christmas day! So as we excitedly prepare for these advents, I want to also prayerfully prepare for them as well, and hopefully in the process we will remain open to the still small voice of God that seems to so often speak to us in the smallest and most fragile of things. Because I continue to struggle at catching these glimpses of God at work it was this ‘practice of attention’ that jumped out to me as one way to help work this out. I look forward to seeing how God speaks into yours and my world this advent season.

About Wess

is the William R. Rogers Director of Friends Center and Quaker Studies at Guilford College in Greensboro, NC., PhD in Intercultural Studies from Fuller Theological Seminary, served as a "released minister" at Camas Friends Church, and father of three. He enjoys sketchnoting, sharing conversation over coffee with a friend, listening to vinyl and writing creative nonfiction.
This entry was posted in introductions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Advent and Our Expectation

  1. crookedshore says:

    TML….I like it Wess. Welcome along. Best get your blogging out of the way soon, because once the wee one arrives all will change!!

  2. haha – thanks I am trying to prepare myself.

Leave a Reply

